Montgomery County Baseball All-Division and MSABC Division 2 Selections

Congratulations to the baseball players from Montgomery County who received honors for their play this season!

A couple things of note:

1- The teams were selected by the coaches from Montgomery County.

2- The teams are unsanctioned by Montgomery County Public Schools.


Five different teams were represented in the first team selections.

Damascus, which won the MPSSAA 3A West regional championship, had the most picks to the first team with four. The Hornets' contingent was led by outfielder Aaron Mettus, who was also named the MVP of the division as well. The team's right side of the infield also made the first team with Tyler Retherford getting the nod at first base, and George Lowe making it at second base. Pitcher Ethan Wentzlaff rounded out the Hornets' group.

Blake had the second largest group with three players picked to the first team. Will Brown made it as a pitcher, while shortstop Jared Lowry also got selected. Utility man Mike Griffin rounded out the Bengals who were chosen.

Rockville, which reached the MPSSAA 3A South regional championship, saw two of its own picked to the first team: catcher Sam Chisholm and outfielder Mickey Van Gieson. Magruder also had two players selected: Sam Crickey for third base, and Gerald Buchanan for outfield.

Poolesville pitcher Brady Pearre was the team's lone representative on the first team. It wasn't the only recognition Pearre would get, as he was also named the Most Valuable Pitcher in the division as well.

To see the first and second team, click here:3A All-Division

4A West

Like the 3A All-Division first team, five different schools were represented in the 4A West All-Division first team.

Quince Orchard, which reached the 4A state championship, nabbed the most nominations with five. The battery unit of pitcher Nick Wong and catcher Brian Edell both made the first team for the Cougars. Shortstop Jake Ropelewski got picked, as did designated hitter Sean Cole. Utility man Kyle Chieh rounds out the selections for Quince Orchard.

Gaithersburg saw Nick Pantos pick up honors as both the division's MVP, as well as its Most Valuable Pitcher. Anthony Felitti made the first team as a pitcher, as did first baseman Brian Sawyer. Outfielder Zach DeCarlo also got nominated for the first team.

Wootton was represented on the first team by second baseman David Greenblott and outfielder Will Jones. Northwest also got two players picked to the first team: pitcher Dean Edmunson and outfielder Ryan Kennington.

Einstein third baseman Joe Curtain is the team's only representative on the first team.

To see the first and second team, click here:4A West All-Division (1)

4A East

Sherwood scored five representatives on the 4A East All-Division first team to have the biggest contingent. Five teams in total had representatives make the first team.

Sherwood's right side of the field got chosen, with freshman Mike Bouma occupying the first place slot, and junior John Ervin taking second base. Junior pitcher Connor Brady and senior outfielder also got picked, as did junior utility man Brendan Collins.

Sherwood senior Matt Ervin also got selected as Pitcher of the Year.

Walter Johnson and Whitman both placed two players on the All-Division first team. Walter Johnson's left side of the infield both made it, with junior shortstop Leo Bucello and senior third baseman Noah Meyers getting picked. Two of Whitman's senior pitchers, Sean Cook and Max Palermo, got chosen.

Bethesda-Chevy Chase saw senior shortstop Elliot Ginns get picked as the Player of the Year. The Barons placed two others on the All-Division first team: junior catcher Spencer Sampson, and sophomore outfielder Sebastian Mieses.

Churchill's senior outfielder Charles Grody also got chosen.

To see the first and second team, click here:4A East All-Division

MSABC District 2 Team

-Sherwood had the most players make the All-District team with five.

-Quince Orchard and Gaithersburg both placed three on the All-District team.

-Bethesda-Chevy Chase is the only other team that had multiple players selected with two

-Walter Johnson, Rockville, Whitman, Northwest and Damascus all had one player make the All-District team

Michael Bouma, Sherwood

Connor Brady, Sherwood

Leo Buccello, Walter Johnson

Kyle Chieh, Quince Orchard

Sam Chisholm, Rockville

Sean Cole, Quince Orchard

Brendan Collins, Sherwood

Sean Cook, Whitman

Matt Ervin, Sherwood

Anthony Felitti, Gaithersburg

Eliott Ginns, B-CC

Ryan Kennington, Northwest

Aaron Mettus, Damascus

Sebastian Mieses, B-CC

Matt Migliozzi, Sherwood

Nick Pantos, Gaithersburg

Jack Ropelewski, Quince Orchard

Brad Sawyer, Gaithersburg
June 14th, 2016By: Wick Eisenberg

County Sports Zone provides the schedules, scores and standings for 208 public high schools across Maryland, Pennsylvania and Illinois.
We post the score of every game - varsity, junior varsity, freshman - by 11 o’clock every night.