Baltimore Sun Names All-Metro Teams

Earlier this week, the Baltimore Sun named their all-metro teams for the Baltimore-metro area. Many of the athletes selected were from CSZ's jurisdictions.

For every spring sport, the Sun picks one player to be their player of the year. There were multiple player of the year selections who were from CSZ's jurisdictions, including Jordan Leon (Milford Mill) for boys track and field, Jen Bleakney (Atholton) for girls track and field, Truman Thomas (Southern-AA) for baseball and Madison Grimm (Manchester Valley) for softball.

The Sun also selects a first and second teams for recognition in each sport. First team selections include Madi Hall (Century) for girls lacrosse, Griffin Wild (Severna Park) for baseball, Hannah Lewis (Perry Hall) for softball and Scott Bruner (Howard) for boys lacrosse, among others.

The Sun also selects a coach of the year for each sport. The coaches who coach in CSZ's jurisdictions who got selected were Jimmy Creighton (Howard) for boys lacrosse, Tony Griner (Century) for boys track and field, Brian Culley (Mount Hebron) for baseball and Mike Hernandez (Manchester Valley) for softball.

Here is the URL to see the selections in their entirety:
June 19th, 2015By: Wick Eisenberg

County Sports Zone provides the schedules, scores and standings for 208 public high schools across Maryland, Pennsylvania and Illinois.
We post the score of every game - varsity, junior varsity, freshman - by 11 o’clock every night.